Marina Collard: Practitioner of the week

marina-collard

Hi Marina, how are you this week, what do you do at Trinity Laban Health?

I’m well thank you. I am a Craniosacral Therapist.

Tell us about your background? Have you always been a Craniosacral Therapist? How did you get into it?

No I haven’t, I was a contemporary dancer for 20 years; I then became a dance teacher for Contemporary. I discovered Craniosacral while I was a dancer and had many treatments. The treatments really helped me and were very effective when I was a dancer. I now balance my teaching work and my Craniosacral practice.

What are the three main benefits of the treatment?

  • Craniosacral integrates the body as a whole and increases vitality as well as addressing specific problems.
  • Can slow the nervous system down to help anxiety, stress and emotional trauma.
  • Can produce an overall sense of wellbeing.

What do you love about treating at Trinity Laban Health?

There is a mixture of clients who visit Trinity Laban Health, including dance students. It is a very nice environment to work in and the clinic is open to anyone which I love.

Describe yourself in three words?

  • Reliable
  • Consistent
  • Wide interest in the Arts culture

What is the best way to look after your body?

To do some daily exercise which you enjoy and do not take it to the extreme.

What is your favourite ‘healthy’ food?

Porridge

If you could meet anyone who would it be?

I would love to meet Hans Josephsohn he makes the most amazing and beautiful sculptures.

Finally… tell us something interesting about yourself?

I went to Lisbon recently and visited the Gulbenkian Museum.  It was stunning seeing a video of the volcanic vibrations on the Galapagos Islands. I also recently performed in a contemporary piece entitled The Modulated Body at an art gallery. I performed this between three paintings by Francis Bacon and Rodin sculptures. The theme of the piece was based around Rodin’s sculpture Iris

Leave a Reply

